Musical March Madness!

Alright folks. Here it is. The ultimate march madness bracket.

As most of you are aware, the NCAA college basketball tournament spawns bracket makers from all across the continent, creating controversial picks and frustrating sports lovers for years. But what if we could make a bracket about something else? How about…musicals!? Yessssss.

That’s right. I’ve created the ultimate musicals bracket. Here’s how it works:

I’ve picked 64 of the most popular/successful musicals, and tried to find a way to rank them objectively, a la March Madness. I thought and thought, til my puzzler was sore, and I came up with the idea to rank them based on the length of their Broadway runs. Let’s just get to the bracket and round 1 of voting., and I’ll explain the ranking system after.

http://betterbracketmaker.com/#!/412540ece8235

There she is! Take a look for yourself and make a plan. And lets just start the voting now. I’ve shown the first 4 match ups, and then I’ll gauge interest from there, so that I don’t end up posting one question per day. Vote with whatever criteria you’d like! Share and tell your friends!

Your first 4 match ups arrrrrrrrre:

**Voting for Day 1 is closed! Head over to Day 2  to vote on the next round!**

I seeded/ranked the musicals based on the length of their original Broadway runs. If they didn’t have a Broadway run, I based it on their West End run. I used this site. The entire system is (unfortunately) not that linear though because, as you’ll notice, some of the musicals that became mostly famous because of their film version, did not have incredible Broadway success. Singing in the Rain, Wizard of Oz, Mary Poppins and Grease were all extremely popular as films, but their Broadway runs were not as successful, for example.

Also, two other musicals that stand out are Little Shop of Horrors, and The Book of Mormon. Little Shop had 2,209 performances, which would have made it 28th all time, just ahead of Jersey Boys. However, the whole run was Off-Broadway. I couldn’t think of a fair way to quantify that, so I simply chopped the number in two. 1,104 performances put it in the spot its in. The Book of Mormon is currently at approximately 1264 performances, and will continue to grow, and when its done, who knows where it will be on this list. For now though, it sits in the 9th spot in its category.

I also left some popular ones out. Sorry. Came down to 64. It’ll be fine.

To seed them, I made four columns and, reading left to right, continuously filled in spots. For example, the top 4 Broadway runs of all time are Phantom of the Opera (9,451), Cats (7,485), Les Miserables (6,680) and A Chorus Line (6,137). Those four became the number 1 seeds. The next four longest runs became the 2 seeds, and so on.

I’ll try and post a new one every day or two!

Any questions or comments, let me know below!

Leave a Reply

